Blog: 2014

Getting the most out of your Shooter School class

Shooter School RangeIn order to make your Shooter School experience more enjoyable, we offer the following tips:

  1. Most classes start at 8:30 AM, and dependent on progress, usually end around 5:00 PM. CCW classes start at 8:00 AM. Please check your course listing to ensure the correct start time.
  2. Please review the required equipment section relevant to your course. Some of the secondary gear you may not need, but the suggested items are designed to make your experience as comfortable as possible. However, you know yourself best - bring as much gear as you will use.
  3. Dress for the weather. We spend considerable time on the range. Rain gear, sun screen, hats, etc., will assist in protecting you from the environment.
  4. We strongly recommend bringing a cleaning kit for your chosen weapon.
  5. We strongly reccomend bringing a lunch.
  6. Be ready to have fun. Whether LE/Military or Civilian, a majority of our classes are designed around offensive and combative weapon use. Our goal is to provide a safe, interactive learning experience. While you will have fun, understand that we will teach you techniques and theories which can be used in defense of life.

See you downrange!

Concealed Carry Licensure Requirements for IL Residents

Illinois residents, do you know the state requirements for consideration for Concealed Carry Licensure?

Here's what you need to know:

  • I am at least 21 years old.
  • I have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card.
  • I have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years.
  • I do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.
  • I am not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
  • I have not been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.
  • You may be eligible if you satisfy the above and no objections are filed by law enforcement. (Section 15)

Requirements courtesy of the Illinois State Police

Pages